Guyana Geology and Mines2018-06-13T14:15:28+00:00

The Geology and Mines Commission

Mining in Guyana is managed by the Geology and Mines Commission (GGMC) under the Mining Act of 1989. The Act allows the GGMC to be the guardian of all minerals in Guyana. Therefore, permission must be received from the GGMC, before any exploration activity can begin. The agency has 5 technical divisions that help to effectively carry out its mandate namely the Mines, Environment, Petroleum and Geological Services Divisions. It also manages 9 mining stations across the 6 mining districts of Guyana and employs skilled and semi-skilled experts to carry out its work.

For more information about the Guyana Geology and Mines Commission visit their website at

Bartica: (592) 455-2249   Georgetown:  (592) 225-6691  Lapidary: (592) 223-7897  Linden: (592) 444-6262

Recent Articles

Parish Peak area to remain off-limits to mining for now; Environmental and forest certification considerations must be assessed before a decision is taken

PRESS RELEASE GEORGETOWN, Guyana – The Ministry of Natural Resources has observed that the Berbice Mining Syndicate has been speaking in the media about lack of access to the Parish Peak area. At a meeting between the Ministry and various mining syndicates held on Wednesday March 29, 2017 this matter was raised with the Minister of Natural Resources Honourable Raphael G.C. Trotman M.P. The Minister at that meeting informed the head of the Berbice Mining Syndicate that there are environmental and forest certification considerations that have to be assessed before any decision can be made about accessing the area for mining purposes. The Minister informed that in the interim the area will remain off-limits. The syndicates were all reminded that not all lands applied for or in which interest is shown can or will be allocated and that the President has appointed a Lands Commission to review and make recommendations [...]

Puruni miners respond positively to Ministry of Natural Resources coordinated training on biodiversity friendly mining practices

PRESS RELEASE MAZARUNI, Guyana: As part of its Mainstreaming Biodiversity in the Gold Mining Sector project, the Ministry of Natural Resources coordinated with the University of Guyana and the Guyana Geology and Mines Commission (GGMC) to deliver a training workshop on mining with the environment in mind. The training workshop entitled ‘Support to Uptake of Biodiversity Friendly Practices by Miners’, took place on Saturday, March 11, 2017, at the Two Blessed Sisters Restaurant in Puruni, Region Seven, Cuyuni-Mazaruni. Over 39 miners attended the workshop. Puruni Landing, Mazaruni Mining District 3, is home to a community of which mining is the major economic activity. Mining also supports other businesses in the community such as shops and hotels. The workshop’s objectives were to create awareness and enhance the knowledge of Mines Officers and miners with respect to the impact of mining on biodiversity and the need for biodiversity conservation. It aimed also [...]

Ministry of Natural Resources, the Guyana Geology and Mines Commission and the Environmental Protection Agency coordinate on clean-up of Kamarang, Upper Mazaruni, Region 7

PRESS RELEASE UPPER MAZARUNI, Guyana – The Ministry of Natural Resources has again partnered with the Guyana Geology and Mines Commission (GGMC) and the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) for a clean-up exercise, this time in Kamarang, Upper Mazaruni, Region 7 from March 1 – 4, 2017. On March Wednesday March 1, 2017 a team comprising personnel from the Ministry of Natural Resources, the GGMC and the EPA departed Georgetown for Kamarang, Upper Mazaruni to coordinate the exercise under the project ‘A Clean Environment’. Kamarang was chosen due to the existing garbage situation, which resulted from indiscriminate dumping in areas such as the edge of the airstrip and along the roadway leading to Waramadong. There was no specific dumping site in existence for garbage at Kamarang, hence the team had to identify, organise and establish a suitable dumpsite for the community. As part of the project, 30 bins were distributed to [...]

Access to Land for Small Miners a priority for Ministry of Natural Resources

PRESS RELEASE GEORGETOWN, Guyana – The Ministry of Natural Resources has noted with interest an article published in the January 16, 2017 edition of the Guyana Chronicle captioned ‘A plea for lands -small miners up calls for unworked lands’. The article highlights complaints from small miners about challenges they have been experiencing as a result of lack of access to mining lands to work. The Ministry welcomes honest feedback and is committed to engaging members of the public – in this case small miners - with a view to addressing the concerns raised. However, while we empathize with small miners who have genuine challenges, we hereby remind all miners that the Ministry has a system in place that allows eligible miners to access mining lands to work. This system is formalized as the Closed Area Committee (CAC) which is mandated to evaluate and recommend applicants for the allocation of mining [...]

New GGMC Chairman, Board charged to address main challenges in Mining Sector

Georgetown, Guyana – (February 12, 2016) Minister of Natural Resources, Mr. Raphael Trotman, today, charged the newly inducted Chairman and Board members of the Guyana Geology and Mines Commission (GGMC) to tackle the more demanding challenges hindering the Mining Sector and to develop a robust Mining Policy Framework to inform its long-term development. The new Chairman, Mr. Stanley Ming and Board members were installed at their first official meeting for the year, and induction ceremony, in the Conference Room of the National Library. The 15 Board members and five observers, who represent the various stakeholders within the Mining Sector were introduced to the public at the ceremony. Minister of Natural Resources, Mr. Raphael Trotman (centre, standing), Chairman of the GGMC Board, Mr. Stanley Ming, (fourth from right) Acting Commissioner of GGMC, Mr. Newell Dennison, (first, left) and some of the other Board members at the installation ceremony this morning. [...]

Minister Broomes to take charge of Occupational Health and Safety at Natural Resources Ministry – vows to fight for rights of workers in the mining industry

Georgetown, Guyana – (January 6, 2016) Former Minister within the Ministry of Social Protection, Ms. Simona Broomes, who has now been appointed Minister within the Ministry of Natural Resources, will be heading a campaign on Occupational Health and Safety in the mining industry as well as ensuring that mining companies comply with the laws and regulations governing that sector. This is according to Minister of Natural Resources, Mr. Raphael Trotman, who held a press conference earlier this afternoon to formally introduce Minister Broomes to the media and to detail her new portfolio and the new Ministry. Minister Raphael Trotman and Minister Simona Broomes interfacing with the media today. He noted that Cabinet has approved Ms. Broomes’s portfolio to oversee aspects of occupational health and safety and protection of the rights of workers and practitioners within the mining and forestry sectors; to ensure compliance of the practitioners with the [...]